communication, eBooks, gail carriger, Random thoughts and ramblings, writing

Uncomfortable publishing truths…

One of my favourite authors is Gail Carriger – I adore  her work and have bought everything that she’s published. I’ve converted my family to being her fans as well. She was my introduction into Steampunk books and I’ve bought several books that she’s reccomended because I trust her judgement (I do check the blurb etc as well) and as yet haven’t been let down, either in her books or in her reccomendations.

One of the things that she and I both have in common (apart from being authors that is) is that E-Book is far easier to get published than Print. It takes a lot longer to format a print book than it does an E-Book. Traditionally, the print, e-book and audiobook often get released at the same time, but as an Indie or Hybrid author, it’s almost impossible to get all three synchronised; we just don’t have the clout.

Gail explains this much better than I could, so I’ll wait for you to read that –http://gailcarriger.com/2017/09/08/wheres-the-print-edition-the-mess-behind-self-pub-some-sad-hybrid-truths/

So the next time you think about complaining that an Indie or Hybrid author hasn’t got a print or audio version of their book for you to buy, please remember that we have a lot more hoops to jump through than a traditionally published author…