As a british writer with american friends, I often spend several hours reading american english. They, in turn, read mine – the different spellings never get highlighted, we know that we’re different. So why should american readers be any different?
Susanne explains…

Susanne's Blog

England and America are two countries divided by a common language. – George Bernard Shaw

Like all Europeans, I was taught the English language as it is spoken in the country of its origin:England. I was drilled in spelling, grammar and punctuation for many years, having my fingers slapped when I made mistakes and made to write each misspelled word ten times. In this way, British English was tattooed into my brain. When I started writing professionally, I thought that this would be a great asset. Indeed, when I worked with editors at publishing houses in Ireland, I was complimented on my clean copy and my good spelling skills. I thought then, that spelling the  British way correctly would be a  good thing when I launched my books into the e-book market. This turned out to be a mistaken assumption.

Naturally, having read a lot of American books, I know English is…

View original post 810 more words

Leave a Reply

