Kira Morgana:

Thought provoking and scary…

Originally posted on Zen and the art of tightrope walking:

The Invisible Woman speaks…will you listen?

Hey, you there?

Yes, you.

I know you can hear me, but you know what? I’m standing right in front of you and you are barely aware of me. My voice might well be the sound of the wind in the trees, always there and yet never truly listened to.

I should really say, OUR voice, because I am not one but many. Many. Countless and timeless, we’ve been invisible for a very long time.

You protest perhaps, declaring that women are not really invisible. They’re everywhere. Half the planet’s population even. I would simply ask you why then do we have a tiny, tiny fraction of the world’s wealth? You might wave a newspaper in front of me, pointing to grainy photos of women, or direct me to the internet news. Women everywhere, you say.

Well, yes. But do you SEE them? Or…

View original 836 more words

2 thoughts on “

  1. ((hugs)) I reblogged it because it caught something inside me. My son has started ignoring me when I ask him to do things (we had a loooong chat about it last night) and I found myself reading your blog and thinking that my invisibilty was starting…

Leave a Reply

